Kuching now not Covid-19 purple zone after native transmissions drop under 40 instances

Kuching no longer Covid-19 red zone after local transmissions drop below 40 cases

KUCHING: Kuching district is now a yellow zone and now not a purple zone after the variety of native transmissions dropped under 40 on Sunday (Aug 2).

In an announcement, the state catastrophe administration committee mentioned Kuching recorded 39 regionally transmitted instances within the final 14 days.

It mentioned Samarahan, Serian, Bau and Lundu had been the opposite yellow zone districts in Sarawak, with between one and 11 native transmissions within the final 14 days.

“This implies 5 districts in Sarawak are nonetheless categorised as yellow zones whereas the remaining 35 districts are inexperienced,” the committee mentioned.

Kuching had been declared a purple zone on Tuesday (July 28) after a double-digit spike introduced the variety of native transmissions to 53 within the earlier 14 days.

Purple zones are districts with greater than 40 native transmissions within the final 14 days and yellow zones one to 40.

The committee additionally mentioned no new instances had been reported in Sarawak on Sunday, with the state’s tally of confirmed instances remaining at 678.

It mentioned there have been nonetheless 10 energetic clusters within the state, comprising the Kuching engineering cluster with eight instances, Mambong cluster (7 instances), medical centre cluster (three instances), Jupiter cluster (three instances), Stutong market cluster (7 instances), Kuching jetty cluster (two instances), Sentosa cluster (31 instances), Melbourne PUI cluster (three instances), Kuching building firm cluster (two instances) and Satok market cluster (4 instances).

On the inter-zone journey restrictions in Sarawak from Aug 1 to 14, the committee reiterated that anybody who wished to journey between Zone One and Zone Two should first receive a allow from the closest police station.

Zone One covers Kuching, Samarahan and Serian divisions, the place the yellow zones are situated, whereas the remaining divisions from Sri Aman to Limbang, that are inexperienced zones, are grouped into Zone Two.

Nevertheless, the committee mentioned travellers going from Sarawak to Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah or Labuan don’t have to get police permission.

Supply hyperlink

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.